Anime Girls Bring Down the Patriarchy!

Jeff Light
13 min readSep 3, 2021
The magical girl quintet. Left to right: the brash unladylike one, the earnest and sincere one, the older nurturing one, the brooding and analytical one, and Madoka, the sweet and naive one.

I was a reluctant convert to Puella Magi Madoka Magica, known affectionally to fans by just the last two words. You can easily see from pictures of the heroines that it’s what’s called a “magical girl” series, a sub-genre of “shoujo” (anime aimed squarely at female teens, of which I’m neither). These kind of granular categories of anime are well-established in Japan, but Westerners might recognize them just from familiar series like Magic Knight Rayearth, Pretty Cure, Cardcaptor Sakura, and of course, Sailor Moon.

I’m admittedly no expert on the genre, as most of the series haven’t really appealed to me. Aside from the Studio Ghibli films that every self-respecting cinephile should watch, the bread and butter of my anime enjoyment usually falls into the sub-genre apparently called “seinen”, which according to the guide from Reel Rundown “ targets male viewers around the age range of 18–40. The shows here are depicted in a more mature light and often include more explicit content such as gore, sex, and violence. More cerebral narratives are present as well.” Wow. I thought I was a beautiful and unique snowflake, but they’ve got me pegged.

“…Oh, and incidentally, it‘s all a metaphor for the nightlife Japanese Hostess Club industry….”

--

--

Jeff Light

Physical nomad converted to digital; eating, drinking, reading, and tattooing my way around our little spinning rock. Medellín-based, find me on Letterboxd.